满足特定膨胀成型要求的有机硅配方

复合材料是指缠绕在基体上的用纤维增强的树脂或聚合物,其通过膨胀热固性工艺模制成型,可以生产轻质且具有高强度的零件和结构。

复合材料最初是由航空航天工业采用和开发的,用于生产重量更轻更耐用的零件,而此类零件之前由金属合金制成。如今,复合材料已成为经济实惠的首选材料,可用于越来越多的行业中生产尖端部件:

  • 在汽车和运输领域,它们被广泛用于生产更轻、更持久和可重复使用的零件
  • 在风力涡轮机等可再生能源系统中,它们用于制造可抵抗强风和极端气候条件的大型螺旋桨叶片,或用于离岸潮汐涡轮机
  • 在远洋船舶中,可以使用复合材料非常精确地模制出坚固、光滑的船体以及其他能够抵抗极端压力和盐水腐蚀的零件
  • 在建筑和土木工程行业中,复合材料已经在一系列基础设施应用中替代了混凝土和钢结构部件
  • 在越来越多的行业中,复合材料用于制造新的和创新的零件原型,因此可以在批量生产之前按照实际使用的方式进行测试和验证

它们的应用领域几乎没有止境,并且还在持续增加:运动装备(球拍、自行车车架……)、家具和装饰配件、医疗和牙科修复工具、液体和化学储存罐、海上油气钻井等。

为什么有机硅是复合材料热膨胀成型的理想材料?

基本上,热膨胀模制是在放置于金属或其他刚性材料制成的固体容器内的柔性有机硅反模中进行的。将复合材料(通常称为预浸料)放入此成型设备中,并通过热膨胀进行自加压。

将成品模具制造成精确规格的关键是,有机硅反模材料必须具有精确的特性,以对生产最终零件的复合材料进行成形和织构化。这需要有机硅产品具有以下相应的特性:

  • 适当的体积热膨胀系数(也称为膨胀系数),即有机硅反模在温度变化时的屈服和抵抗复合材料的压力、形状、表面积、体积和密度变化的能力。
  • 硅树脂成型材料还必须具有正确的耐热性,以便在温度上升或下降时保持其性能。
  • 它也必须具有抗粘特性,以承受复合材料中所用环氧树脂通常具有的侵蚀性和强粘性,并具有适当的防滑性能,以便能够有效脱模且不会改变最终产品。

为什么选择埃肯有机硅来设计、开发和交付用于复合材料热膨胀成型的合适材料?

我们在为众多行业提供有效和创新的有机硅成型和脱模解决方案方面拥有60多年的经验。埃肯有机硅专家团队了解这个非常多元化的领域中每个部门和每个地区的细节,我们始终在研发方面与上游客户紧密合作,我们倾听他们的需求,为他们提供标准或定制产品,并提供工艺和应用的支持、指导和现场技术服务。

我们提供的标准产品包括:

  • BLUESIL™ RTV 3428 A&B是一种双组分有机硅弹性体,其用途广泛,多年来已成为航空、造船、汽车、运输和其他行业的行业标准。它是专为压力成型以及高温高压灭菌工艺而设计的。它能够非常有效地复刻出最细微的细节,并具有机械阻力和长寿命,可用于大量制造模具。
  • 成立于60年前的CAF™品牌也已成为工业RTV-1硅树脂的标杆,由于能够满足苛刻应用和严格质量标准(ISO 9001,PPAP方法,ISO EN 9100等)的要求,它已经与全球主要产业客户建立了长期合作伙伴关系。

我们真正的价值所在:为您的创新和发展持续贡献

埃肯有机硅是埃肯集团的组成部分,埃肯集团是一家全产业链的全球有机硅制造商,掌握了从石英到特种有机硅的完整价值链。另外,由于我们涉足各个行业,因此我们可以提出“交叉”解决方案。例如,在航空航天或风力发电设备中的创新应用可在许多领域改进产品,特别是那些在创新和产品开发计划中可能会使用到复合材料热膨胀成型技术的领域。

从研发到产业化的各阶段,我们在全球范围内为您提供服务,以确定和定制恰当的有机硅产品来提高流程效率和卓越运营,从而帮助降低成本、能耗和浪费,同时确保操作员的安全,这样有助于降低总运营成本。其他服务还包括监管支持,协助开展生产力计划,团队培训以及与新产品研发相关的协作工作。

我们诚邀您了解我们的增值产品,得益于我们公司的品牌理念开拓您潜能,我们将为您提供全方位的服务和协作方式。

Silicone formulations for specific expansion molding requirements

Composites, also known as composite materials, are fiber-reinforced resins or polymers intertwined in matrices, which are molded in expansive thermosetting processes to produce lightweight and highly resistant parts and structures. 

Initially introduced and developed by the aeronautics and space industries to produce lighter and more durable parts previously made of metal alloys, composites have become cost-effective materials of choice for making cutting edge components for a growing number of industries:

  • In the automotive and transport sectors, they are widely used to produce lighter, more long-lasting and reusable parts
  • In renewable energy systems, such as wind turbines, they are used to make large-size propeller blades that resist high winds and extreme climate conditions or in offshore tide turbines 
  • In nautical crafts, they can be molded very precisely to make solid smooth hulls and other parts that resist extreme pressure and salt-water corrosion
  • In construction and civil engineering applications, composites are replacing concrete and steel structural parts in a range of infrastructure applications
  • In a growing number of industries, composites are used for prototyping new and innovative parts so they can be tested and approved in real-life use before ramping up to serial production.

The list is almost endless and growing: sports equipment (rackets, bike frames…), furniture and decorative accessories, medical and dental prosthetics, liquid and chemical storage tanks, offshore oil & gas rigs, etc.

Why are silicones the ideal material for thermal expansion molding of composites?

Basically, thermal expansion molding is crafted in flexible silicone countermolds placed within solid containers made of metals or other rigid materials. The composite material (generally known as a prepreg) is positioned into this molding setup and self-pressurized by thermal expansion. 

The key to producing the finished mold to the exact specifications is that the silicone countermold material must have the exact characteristics to shape and texture the composite used to produce the final part. This is achieved by using a silicone formulation that provides the following characteristics:

  • The proper volumetric thermal expansion coefficient (also known as the dilation coefficient), i.e. the capacity of the silicone countermold to yield and resist the effect of the composite’s change in pressure, shape, surface area, volume and density as a function of its change of temperature.
  • The silicone molding material must also have the right thermal resistance properties so that it maintains its performance as temperature rises or declines.
  • It must also have the anti-adherence characteristics to withstand the often aggressive and strong adhesive features of the epoxies used in the composite and have the proper anti-slip properties so that demolding is efficient and does not alter the final product.

Why choose Elkem Silicones to design, develop and deliver the right materials for thermal expansion molding of composites?

We have over 60 years of experience in providing effective and innovative silicone molding and release solutions to a wide range of industries. Elkem Silicones expert teams know the specifics of each sector and each region in this very diversified field and we always work closely with our customers upstream in R&D, we listen to their needs, we provide them with standard or customized products, backed with process and application guidance and on-site technical services. 

Our standard product offering includes:

  • BLUESIL RTV 3428 A&B, a two component silicone elastomer used for a wide range of applications which has established itself as an industry standard in aeronautics, shipbuilding, automotive, transport and other industries over many years. It is specifically designed for pressure molding as well as high-thermal autoclave processes. It is especially efficient in reproducing the finest details and offers mechanical resistance and a long-life span for making multiple molds.
  • The CAF™ brand, created over 60 years ago, has also become a benchmark in industrial RTV-1 silicones and has established long-lasting partnerships with major industrial customers throughout the world, based its ability to be integrated in demanding applications and outstanding quality standards (ISO 9001, PPAP approach, ISO EN 9100, etc.).

Our true added offering: contributing to your innovation and development

Elkem Silicones is part of the Elkem Group, a fully-integrated global silicone manufacturer, mastering the full value chain from quartz to specialty silicones. Also, because we are involved in all sectors of industry, we can propose “crossover” solutions. For example, innovative applications for aerospace or wind power installations can be useful in improving products in many fields, in particular those exploring the possibilities of using thermal expansion molding of composites in their innovation and product development programs. 

We are available worldwide to serve you, from the R&D to the industrialization phase to find and customize the right silicone products to achieve increased process efficiency and operational excellence, help to reduce costs, energy consumption and waste, while ensuring safety for operators, all of which contribute to bringing down Total Cost of Operations. Other services also include regulatory support, assistance to roll out productivity programs, training for teams and collaborative work on new developments.

We invite you to contact us to discover our added-value offering, based on our full-service and collaborative approach, inspired by our company slogan, Delivering Your Potential.