有机硅:电动汽车(EV)快速充电电缆的有效解决方案

到2030年,预计将有3000万辆电动汽车(EV)行驶在道路上,其复合年增长率超过20%。从紧凑型城市车辆到进行城际运输的高端汽车和商用车辆,今天已经在争相推出各种各样的车型以满足这种快速增长的需求。所有主要的汽车制造商都在通过更好、更高效的技术来抢占市场,以满足消费者对更清洁、更具成本效益的汽车的需求。他们还必须遵守管理当局日益严格的规定。一些公共支持政策,诸如电动汽车补贴、在某些城市中心禁止燃油车辆通行和更低的电费,以及许多其他措施,都促使人们渴望从传统汽车转而使用电动汽车。

但是,仍然存在两个相关且压倒一切的因素,决定了大众消费者对电动汽车的接受程度:

  • 通过高性能电池实现更长的续航里程
  • 连续驾驶所需的电池快速充电

从插座到电池:不间断的最佳能量流动

如上所述,影响电动汽车用户使用的两个主要因素是续航和快速充电能力。电动汽车车主现在可以在快速增长的公共充电站网络以及家庭充电设施中以闪电般的速度“充满”电力。例如,最先进的充电器可以在短短20分钟内将其充电到80%的容量。

这些充电器的电缆必须能够安全有效地允许很高的电流通过。例如,快速直流充电器(当今最常见的类型)可提供50 kW(125A)的功率,而超快速直流充电器可为新型高端电动汽车中容量越来越大的电池提供100 kW至350 kW的功率。 为了承受这种水平的电流,用于这些电缆的材料的绝缘耐热能力必须满足最高的安全性和效率要求。

为什么有机硅橡胶是电动汽车电池充电电缆的安全和有效的材料?

与所有其他绝缘材料(PVC,聚乙烯等)相比,有机硅橡胶的耐高温和耐低温性能使其成为电动汽车电池电缆的首选绝缘材料。有机硅橡胶保护的电动汽车充电电缆可承受-60°C至250°C的巨大温度变化范围。这意味着,电动汽车的拥有者可以在北极寒冷的条件下安全地为电池充电,并承受高压电流输出会在电缆和充电器中产生的热量。

灵活性是将有机硅橡胶用于电动汽车充电电缆的另一个关键原因,因为车主可以像传统的电缆或气体软管一样灵活地操纵电缆,尤其是在冬季低温下。


有机硅对于电动汽车充电电缆还有什么好处?

与其他材料相比,用于电动汽车充电电缆的有机硅绝缘材料非常轻巧,这意味着它有助于节省能源改善对环境的影响,同时也使消费者使用起来更加方便。 有机硅绝缘材料还具有绝热和阻燃特性,因此可提供最高的安全性

最后,得益于ISO 6722和14572认证(请进行核实),埃肯有机硅电动汽车充电电缆产品符合最高法规和质量要求。特别是,它们符合最高的行业标准,包括LV 112和LV 216,这是全球领先汽车制造商使用的质量基准。

我们提供的产品

我们的埃肯MF产品线能够为电缆和电线提供耐热和阻燃性能、灵活性、可靠的绝缘性、最恰当的物理性能和轻量化性能。

  • MF8365 E(橙色)是我们专为LV 216 F和高压快速充电电缆而设计的有机硅橡胶混合物,具有有效的绝缘性、硬度、耐用性、抗拉强度,可保证在数千次使用中的可靠性,并具有最高的拉伸率、断裂强度和撕裂强度,以实现重型电缆的最高抗拉和抗挤压能力。

埃肯有机硅多年来一直与电动汽车(和混合动力汽车)OEM厂商和一级供应商紧密合作,以改善电动汽车各个方面的性能,包括功率和导热性问题、绝缘、灌封和封装、热量控制等。我们的电动充电电缆是这全系列产品不可或缺的一部分。

我们的有机橡胶专家团队可帮助您开发特定和创新的解决方案,以生产您优化制造过程所需的成分和配方。

我们在企业文化上也与汽车供应链系统苛刻的要求保持一致。这包括基于双重采购计划的风险管理,因此一级供应商和OEM厂商始终可以按时收到他们需要的产品。埃肯有机硅还通过其混料中心(Mix&Fix™)为客户提供定制和后处理服务,该中心位置便利,靠近各大洲的主要汽车生产中心。

其他服务还包括监管支持、协助推出产能计划、团队培训以及有关新产品研发的协作工作。 我们的终极目标是:为整个汽车行业提供最佳的量身定制的产品和服务,以帮助满足最终客户的需求。

Silicones: Efficient solutions for rapid battery charger cables for Electrical Vehicles (EVs)

By 2030, there will be an estimated 30 million Electrical Vehicles (EVs) on the road, with CAGR of over 20%. The race is on today to produce a wide range of models to meet this fast-growing demand, from compact urban vehicles to high-end cars via intercity transport and industrial vehicles. All major carmakers are jockeying for positions, through better and more efficient technologies, to meet consumer needs for cleaner and more cost-effective vehicles. They must also comply with public authorities’ increasingly strict regulations. Public support, such as EV subsidies, the banning of (Internal Combustion Engines (ICE) vehicles in some urban centers and lower electrical costs and many other measures are boosting the desire for people to switch from ICE to EV.  

However, there remain two related and overriding factors that are the key factor for mass consumer uptake of EVs:  

  • Increased power autonomy through high-performance batteries 
  • Rapid-charging batteries for travel continuity

From socket to battery: an uninterrupted and optimal flow of energy

The two main factors for EV customer uptake, as stated above, is autonomy and rapid charging capacities. EV owners can now “fill up” on their electrical power at lightning-fast speeds both in the growing network of public charging stations as well as home charging installations. For example, the most advanced chargers can be recharged to 80% capacity in as little as 20 minutes. 

These charger cables must be able to safely and efficiently allow for a very high flow of electricity. For example, rapid DC chargers (the most common type today) provide power at 50 kW (125A) while 

ultra-rapid DC chargers provide power from 100 kW to up to 350 kW for the increasingly high-capacity batteries in new high-end EVs. To withstand this level of electrical flow, the insulation heat resistance capacities of the materials used for these cables must offer the highest levels of safety and efficiency.

Why is silicone rubber the material of choice for secure and efficient EV battery charging cables?

Hot and cold thermal resistance of silicone rubber makes it the insulation material of choice for EV battery cables, compared to all other insulation materials (PVC, polyethylene, etc.). Silicone-protected EV charging cables can withstand huge temperature variations from -60C to +250°C. This means that an EV car owner can charge their battery safely in Arctic-cold conditions and withstand the heating that the high-voltage output will generate in the cable and charger. 

Flexibility is another key reason for using silicone rubber for EV charging cables since the car owner can manipulate the cable as easily as a traditional electrical cable or gas hose, especially at low temperature during winter.

What other advantages does silicone provide for EV charger cables? 

Silicone insulation materials for EV charger cables are very lightweight compared to other materials, meaning it contributes to energy savings and improving the environmental impact, but also makes it more convenient for consumers to use. Silicone insulation materials also provide the highest level of safety because of their insulation and fire-retardant properties 

Finally, Elkem Silicones EV charging cable products are compliant with the highest regulatory and quality requirements, benefiting from ISO 6722 and 14572 certifications (please fact check). In particular, they meet the highest industry standards, including LV 112 and LV 216, the quality benchmark used by leading carmakers worldwide.

Our product offering

Our Elkem MF product line for cables and wires ensures thermal and fire resistance, flexibility, reliable insulation, perfectly adapted mechanical properties and lightweight materials.  

  • MF 8365 E (orange) is our silicone rubber compound specifically designed for LV 216 F and high-voltage rapid charging cables, featuring for efficient insulation, hardness for durability, tensile strength for reliability over thousands of uses, the highest level of elongation at break and tear strength to enable maximum length and volume resistivity for heavy-duty cables.

Elkem Silicones has been working closely with EV (and HEV) OEMs and Tier 1 suppliers for many years to improve every aspect of EV performance, including power and thermal conductivity issues, insulation, potting and encapsulation, thermal heat management, etc. Our EV charger cables are an integral part of this full chain of offerings. 

Our teams of silicone rubber experts are available to develop specific and innovative solutions to produce the ingredients and formulations you need to optimize your manufacturing processes for all your needs. 

We have also developed a culture in line with the demanding requirements of automotive supply chain systems, so Tier 1 suppliers and OEMs always receive the products they need on time. Elkem Silicones also provides customization services to its clients through its Mix & Fix™ Centers, conveniently located near major automotive production centers on all continents. 

Other services also include regulatory support, assistance to roll out productivity programs, training for teams and collaborative work on new developments. Their ultimate goal: to provide the entire automotive industry with the best tailor-made products and services in order to help to satisfy end customers.