汽车电池电缆的有机硅解决方案

电池和电缆系统是所有汽车的核心,无论它们是由传统内燃机(ICE)供电还是作为混合动力或电动汽车(HEV和EV)中的驱动力。例如,在传统的内燃机汽车中,电缆必须承受引擎盖下温度的巨大波动,因此必须在非常高的温度下完全绝缘且耐火。

电动汽车则需要数量越来越多的电缆,以确保导电性并承受由于高电能通过量引起的温度峰值。由于电缆的数量巨大以及它们在发动机壳体中的相互连接的复杂性,因此电动汽车电池电缆也必须轻巧且高度灵活。混合动力汽车必须既承受内燃机产生的热量,又要在非常有限的空间内确保为其电机供电。

为什么有机硅是汽车电池电缆的理想绝缘材料?

与所有其他绝缘材料(PVC、聚乙烯等)相比,有机硅橡胶作为电池电缆绝缘材料的首要优势是其无与伦比的性能,可承受-60+ 250的巨大温度变化。埃肯有机硅电池电缆绝缘材料经过测试,可在200°C保持稳定运行3000小时。这意味着它们可以承受传统发动机产生的热量,并且可以优化电动汽车的热管理系统(TMS),即能够控制电池供电系统的整个温度系统并优化热和功率传递、传导和对流的能力,以减少热量失控。

灵活性是有机硅橡胶在电池电缆中使用的另一个关键原因。这是在整个汽车行业中OEM厂商和零件制造商在设计和组装发动机时的主要考虑因素,这些发动机在非常紧凑的外壳中的需要越来越复杂的接线,通常需要采用U形或发夹弯来连接不同的发动机零件。这种灵活性是减少制造流程的时间并提高效率的重要因素。

有机硅是如何改善环境、确保安全并符合法规和质量要求的?

与其他耐高温材料相比,用于电池电缆的有机硅绝缘材料非常轻巧,因此有助于节省能源并改善各种汽车对环境的影响,尤其是对于电动汽车而言,提高其续航能力是消费者关注的一项主要性能指标。

有机硅绝缘材料还具有阻燃性独特的自熄能力,因此可以提供最高的安全性,避免了在发动机罩中突发火焰时的扩散。

最后,得益于ISO 6722和14572认证,埃肯有机硅电池电缆产品符合最高法规和质量要求。特别是,它们符合最高的行业标准,包括LV 112和LV 216,这是全球领先汽车制造商使用的质量基准。

我们提供的产品

  • BLUESIL MF 8160 U是我们的通用电线和电缆绝缘材料,进行空气硫化(HAV)或蒸汽硫化(CV)时可同时使用或者不适用扩展填充剂(例如石英粉)。这是专门设计用作电线和电缆绝缘的材料。

优势:

  • 易于处理
  • 无后固化
  • 优良的电气特性
  • 出色的热稳定性,最高耐受300°C
  • 容易加工出明亮的颜色以进行电线识别
  • 高机械性能:高撕裂强度和高断裂伸长率。

 

为什么选择埃肯有机硅作为您的汽车电池电缆绝缘材料?

我们的有机硅橡胶专家团队已经为汽车行业服务了50多年。他们可帮助您开发特定和创新的解决方案,以生产您优化制造过程所需的成分和配方。

特别是,我们在企业文化上也与汽车供应链系统苛刻的要求保持一致。这包括基于双重采购计划的风险管理,因此一级供应商和OEM厂商始终可以按时收到他们需要的产品。埃肯有机硅还通过其混料中心(Mix&Fix™)为客户提供定制和后处理服务,该中心位置便利,靠近各大洲的主要汽车生产中心。

其他服务还包括监管支持、协助推出产能计划、团队培训以及有关新产品研发的协作工作。 我们的终极目标是:为整个汽车行业提供最佳的量身定制的产品和服务,以帮助满足最终客户的需求。

Silicone solutions for automotive battery cables

Battery and cabling systems are at the heart of all automobiles, whether they are powered by traditional internal combustion engines (ICE) or are the driving force in hybrid or electrical vehicles (HEV & EV). For example, in traditional ICE, cables must withstand huge fluctuations in temperatures under the hood and so must be perfectly insulated and fire-resistant at very high temperatures. 

EV vehicles require an ever-increasing number of cables to ensure conductivity and manage temperature spikes due to a high throughput of electrical energy. Because of the sheer quantity of cables and the complexity of their inter-connectivity in the engine housing, EV battery cables must also be lightweight and highly flexible. And hybrid vehicles must withstand both the heat generated by ICE and ensure the power supply of their electrical motors in a very limited space.

Why is silicone the material of choice to insulate automotive battery cables?

The overriding advantage of silicone rubber as the insulation material of choice for battery cables is their unequaled ability, compared to all other insulation materials (PVC, polyethylene, etc.), to withstand huge temperature variations from -60C to +250°C. Elkem Silicone battery cable insulation materials are tested to remain stable at 200°C for 3000 hours. This means that they can adapt to the heat generated by traditional motors and can optimize the Thermal Management Systems (TMS) of EVs, i.e. the ability to control the entire temperature system of battery-powered systems and optimize heat and power transfer, conduction and convection, to reduce thermal runaway.

Flexibility is another key reason for using silicone rubber for battery cables. This is a major consideration for the entire automotive industry, both OEMs and parts makers, in designing and assembling their engines, which have increasingly complex wiring in very tight motor housings, often requiring U-shaped or hairpin curves to connect different engine parts. This flexibility is an important factor in reducing manufacturing processing time and improving efficiency.

How does silicone contribute to a better environment, ensure safety and meet regulatory and quality requirements? 

Silicone insulation materials for battery cables are very lightweight compared to other materials that meet high temperature, thus contributing to energy savings and improving the environmental impact in all cars and, for EV vehicles in particular, increasing their overall level of autonomy, a major performance criterion for consumers. 

Silicone insulation materials also provide the highest level of safety because of their fire-retardant properties and their unique capacity to self-extinguish, avoiding propagation when flames actually do ignite in the engine housing.

Finally, Elkem Silicones battery cable products are compliant with the highest regulatory and quality requirements, benefiting from ISO 6722 and 14572 certifications. In particular, they meet the highest industry standards, including LV 112 and LV 216, the quality benchmark used by leading carmakers worldwide.

Our product offering

  • BLUESIL MF 8160 U is our general-purpose wire and cable insulating compound, which can be used with or without extending filler (e.g. ground quartz) for both air vulcanization (HAV) and steam vulcanization (CV). It is especially designed as wire and cable insulating material. 

Advantages:

  • Easy processing
  • No  post-cure 
  • Excellent electrical characteristics. 
  • Excellent heat stability, up to 300°C
  • Bright colors easily obtained for wire identification
  • High mechanical properties: high tear strength and high elongation at break.

Why choose Elkem Silicones for your automotive battery insulation materials?

Our teams of silicone rubber experts have been serving the automotive industry for over 50 years. They are available to develop specific and innovative solutions to produce the ingredients and formulations you need to optimize your manufacturing processes. 

In particular, we have developed a culture in line with the demanding requirements of automotive supply chain systems. This includes risk management based on double-sourcing plans, so Tier 1 suppliers and OEMs always receive the products they need on time. Elkem Silicones also provides customization and reprocessing services to its clients through its Mix & Fix™ Centers, conveniently located near major automotive production centers on all continents. 

Other services also include regulatory support, assistance to roll out productivity programs, training for teams and collaborative work on new developments. Their ultimate goal: to provide the entire automotive industry with the best tailor-made products and services in order to help to satisfy end customers.