有机硅:电缆配件的理想材料

全球对电能的需求正在增长。无论是采用传统的化石燃料、核能还是各种可再生能源进行生产,可靠和安全的电缆比以往任何时候都更加重要。高压电流传输和中低压配电设备的制造商要求更安全、更耐用、创新且具有成本效益的解决方案。 有机硅橡胶越来越多地成为电线电缆配件的首选材料,因为它们具有较高的机械和绝缘性能,良好的耐热和耐火性,并且可用于各个领域的大规模布线应用:公用事业、建筑、铁路、城市照明、电动汽车(EV)快速充电站等。

有机硅橡胶电缆配件的需求也日益增长,以应对气候变化的影响合极端天气事件的增加。与有机聚合物或其他橡胶和塑料材料相比,有机硅对紫外线和极端温度波动的抵抗能力更强。埃肯有机硅为客户提供特定产品,以在自然灾害(例如毁灭性飓风)发生后紧急救助,就像我们于2019年在美国所做的那样。有机硅也是符合各种电压电缆配件的最佳材料,因为它们符合最严格的国际标准和规范。

用于电缆配件的液态硅橡胶(LSR)材料的主要优点是什么?

绝缘子和电缆配件用于保护关键连接点上的所有电源线和高压变压器。这些配件包括套管、电涌放电器、连接紧固件、电缆端头等。过去,由于价格低廉且易于使用,所以使用玻璃或陶瓷绝缘子,但由于它们笨重且易碎,因此已表现出其局限性。由LSR通过各种成型、挤压和注射工艺制成的冷缩电缆配件提供了更可靠,更耐用的产品,以进行相互连接或将电缆与架空传输线以及每个变电站中的设备连接。这些各种连接和绝缘设备包括室内和室外电缆端子以及中间连接器。

这些LSR或弹性复合绝缘子具有以下特点:

  • 优异的机械性能,可保护电缆和连接件在运输和安装过程中以及安装后免受天气和其他环境因素(包括紫外线、风、雨,雪等)的冲击。
  • 重量轻,平均比玻璃绝缘子轻80%,这对关键连接点的压力较小
  • 降低运输、安装和维护成本
  • 与EPDM(M级乙丙二烯)橡胶和其他有机聚合物相比,由于PDMS(聚二甲基硅氧烷)链的重新取向和低分子量随时间的规律分布,其受污染和电晕放电后的疏水性更好。

我们供应的产品

埃肯有机硅已开发(并将继续开发)用于制造有机硅橡胶电缆配件所用的通用产品系列和配方组合,使用的技术和产品可满足日益严格的技术和法规要求。

以下是我们的部分产品示例:

BLUESIL™ EP 531/40 G A/B A2,一种双组分液态硅橡胶,设计用于通过注塑(在以1:1的比例混合A / B组分之后)生产中低压绝缘零件,例如室内和室外端子、三指套、电缆接头等。

主要性能包括:

  • 低张力设定
  • 优异的断裂伸长率和拉伸性能
  • 与导电部件的优异粘合性能
  • 优异的绝缘性能
  • 无包容性
  • 高效的可加工性

BLUESIL™ EP 560 A/B A2一种双组分液态硅橡胶,设计用于通过注塑(在以1:1的比例混合A / B组分之后)生产导电零件、例如应力锥、屏蔽管等。

主要性能包括:

  • 体积电阻率低
  • 良好的可加工性
  • 良好的抗碳转移能力
  • 优异的机械性能
  • 低张力设定
  • 与绝缘LSR良好的粘结性能
  • 无包容性

为什么选择埃肯有机硅作为您的有机硅电缆配件的合作伙伴?

几十年来,埃肯有机硅一直为低、中和高压应用的制造商和公用事业运营商提供LSR、RTV和HTV(室温或高温硫化)产品。其中包括用于输电和配电的有机硅绝缘子,用于变压器、电涌放电器和各种电缆配件的空心绝缘子。

我们提供定制设计和解决方案,使我们的每个客户都可以优化他们的特定工艺,同时遵守国家和国际标准(例如IEC 62217,IEC 62039等)。我们对多元化市场的了解以及灵活性已成为全球范围内与领先公司建立众多合作关系的基础。

埃肯有机硅的专家团队可在全球范围内为客户提供建议,并通过遍布全球各大洲的全球混料中心(Mix&Fix™)网络提供全面的支持服务。我们也提供其他服务,包括监管支持、协助推出产能计划,团队培训以及有关新产品研发的协作工作。

Silicone: material of choice for electrical cable accessories

Demand for electrical energy is growing worldwide. Whether produced by traditional fossil fuels, nuclear power plants or various sources of renewable energy, reliable and safe cables are more crucial than ever. Manufacturers of equipment for high-voltage current transmission and low and medium-voltage distribution are demanding safer, more durable, innovative and cost-effective solutions. Silicone rubber accessories are increasingly the materials of choice for wire and cable accessories because they offer high mechanical and insulation properties, ensure heat and fire resistance and can be used for a wide range of cabling applications in various sectors: utilities, construction, railways, urban lighting, electrical vehicles (EV) rapid charging stations, etc.

Silicone rubber cable accessories are also increasingly in demand to counter the effects of climate change and respond to the greater occurrence of extreme weather events. Silicones offer more to resistance to UV and extreme temperature fluctuations than organic polymers or other rubber and plastic materials. Elkem Silicones offers specific products to its customers for emergency relief after natural disasters such as devastating hurricanes as we did in 2019 in the US. Silicones are also the best material for multiple voltage cable accessories because they comply with the most rigorous international standards and specifications.

What are the main advantages of liquid silicone rubber (LSR) materials for electrical cable accessories?

Insulators and cable accessories are used to protect all power lines and high-voltage transformers at key connection points. These accessories include bushings, surge arresters, junction fasteners, cable ends, etc. In the past, glass or ceramic insulators were used because of their low price and availability, but they have shown their limits since they are heavy and brittle. Cold-shrinkable cable accessories made from LSR in various molding, extrusion and injection processes provide more reliable and durable accessories to connect cable lengths between them or to connect the cable with the overhead transmission line and the equipment in each substation. These various connection and insulation devices Include indoor and outdoor cable terminals and intermediate connectors.

These LSR or elastomeric composite insulators feature:

  • Excellent mechanical properties that protect cables and connections from shocks during shipping and installation and, after installation, when exposed to weather and other environmental pressures, including UV rays, wind, rain, snow, etc.
  • Low weight, on average 80% lighter than glass insulators, which puts less pressure on critical junctions
  • Reduced costs for transportation, installation and maintenance
  • Better hydrophobic properties after contamination and corona discharges compared to EPDM (Ethylene Propylene Diene M-class) rubbers and other organic polymers due to the reorientation of PDMS (Polydimethylsiloxane) chains and the regular distribution over time of low molecular weights to the surface of the elastomer.

Our product offering

Elkem Silicones has developed (and is continuing to develop) a versatile product range and portfolio of formulations for making silicone rubber cable accessories, using different technologies and products that meet increasingly demanding technical and regulatory requirements. 

Here are a few examples of our products:

BLUESIL™ EP 531/40 G A/B A2, a two-component liquid silicone rubber is designed for producing medium and low-voltage insulating parts through injection (after an A/B mix at a ratio of 1:1), such as indoor and outdoor terminals, three-finger cots, cable joints, etc.

Key performance factors include:

  • Low tension set 
  • Excellent elongation at break and tensile properties
  • Excellent bonding properties with electrically conductive parts
  • Excellent insulating performance
  • Inclusion-free 
  • Efficient processability

BLUESIL™ EP 560 A/B A2, a two-component liquid silicone rubber designed for producing electrically conductive parts through injection (after an A/B mix at a ratio of 1:1), such as stress cones, shielding tubes, etc.

Key performance factors include:

  • Low volume resistance
  • Good processability
  • Good anti carbon-transfer capabilities
  • Excellent mechanical properties
  • Low tension set  
  • Good bonding properties, with insulating LSRs
  • Inclusion-free

Why choose Elkem Silicones as your partner for silicone-based electrical cable accessories?

For several decades, Elkem Silicones has been supplying LSR RTV & HTV (Room Temperature or High Temperature Vulcanized) products to manufacturers and utility operators for low, medium and high voltage applications. These include silicone insulators for electrical transmission and distribution, hollow core insulators for transformers, surge arresters and assorted cable accessories. 

We custom-design and deliver solutions that allow each of our customers to optimize their specific processes, while complying with national and international standards (e.g. IEC 62217, IEC 62039, etc.). This understanding of diverse markets and our flexibility have been the basis for numerous partnerships worldwide with leading companies. 

Elkem Silicone experts are available worldwide to advise customers and offers complete support services through our worldwide network of Mix & Fix™ Centers, conveniently located on all continents. Other services include regulatory support, assistance to roll out productivity programs, training for teams and collaborative work on new developments.