汽车行业中用到的有机硅应用

六十多年来,埃肯有机硅一直与包括OEM厂商和一级供应商在内的汽车行业紧密合作,帮助从最初的组装阶段开始就提高质量和效率。例如,我们是第一家从1980年代就开始在发动机组件中引入液态有机硅弹性体的现场固化密封垫圈(CiPG)和现场成型密封垫圈(FiPG)来代替软木和纸衬的厂商!这种做法已经成为(并且仍将是)行业标准,并且通过增加有机硅材料与其相连接的零件的粘附力,多年来不断得以改进。

如今,汽车制造商必须应对日益复杂的工业、环境和技术问题:从原材料采购到报废拆解、维护、修理、零件回收等,它们还必须制造出更轻、更安全、更具成本效益,并且能耗更低、环境影响和CO₂足迹更低的高效车辆。为此,它们必须为客户提供更多由更高效的传统内燃机驱动的车辆,以及顺应电动化趋势的各种混合动力和电动车辆(HEV和EV)。

埃肯有机硅继续与汽车制造商和零件供应商紧密合作,以帮助他们从设计到拆解各环节的创新和改进,使他们能够生产出消费者所需和期望的汽车。

为什么埃肯有机硅的汽车解决方案会成为全球领先的汽车行业首选材料?

埃肯有机硅的产品广泛应用于轿车和卡车的各个部件,从发动机到汽车内饰,以及车身、车载电子设备和配件等。汽车制造商知道,有机硅在汽车上的应用方便、易于加工、用途广泛、耐热并且可以承受化学和环境压力,使其在长时间内保持可靠和稳定。

以下是使用有机硅提升性能的主要汽车零部件:

  • 气缸盖垫片
  • 发动机和变速箱垫片
  • 动力总成密封
  • 电池模组
  • 电池组
  • 前照灯垫片
  • 电子控制单元(ECU)
  • 连接器
  • 雨量和距离传感器

例如,在传统内燃机中,我们用于现场固化密封垫圈(CiPG)和现场成型密封垫圈(FiPG)的液态有机硅弹性体是优化变速箱、发动机和汽缸盖组装和密封的标杆产品。

有机硅原料和配方也可用于制造更轻的零件,从而替代金属,因此有助于减轻重量并减少污染物和温室气体的排放。简而言之,它们在从传统内燃机到电动汽车的汽车工业的几乎所有制造方面都起着至关重要的作用。

电动化之路

所有主要的汽车制造商都推出了多种混动和电动车型,并且还将推出更多车型。它们的主要挑战之一是确保新一代电动车辆中的电气和电子部件高效、可靠和安全。有机硅在其关键部件的组装、一体化和保护方面有广泛的用途。

埃肯有机硅利用其在发动机部件的密封和粘合方面的经验,以及在车载电子产品、电气部件的封装、灌封和绝缘方面的专业知识,推动着汽车技术的发展。它与电动汽车制造商紧密合作,从设计到原型制作和组装,不断创新并推动新一代车辆品质提升。

电动汽车中电池的热量控制是确保电动机有效运行的关键因素。我们与OEM厂商和一级供应商紧密合作,致力于从预生产和原型阶段一直到批量生产各环节参与电池模组和电池组的设计。我们与设计师和材料工程师一起寻找最佳的解决方案,并在性能、功能、体积、质量、成本、维护和安全问题之间进行优化。


车载电子设备

车载电子设备在所有类型的车辆中都扮演着越来越重要的角色。埃肯有机硅正在不断开发和改进材料,以确保关键的电气和电子组件从最初的制造阶段到车辆的整个生命周期中都安全可靠地工作。我们产品的首要任务是保护敏感部件免受侵入性环境因素的影响,例如灰尘、湿气、腐蚀性液体、化学药品、热量以及潜在的明火。我们的手段是通过特定的用于保形涂层、灌封和封装的辅助产品来实现。

有机硅是保护传感器、动作器、中央处理器(CPU)和印刷电路板的首选材料,是抵御外界侵害的第一道防线。埃肯有机硅提供多种产品来实现最佳效果,包括:

  • 凝胶,由于其具有低模量,可以抵抗外部压力和内部机械应力,并且易于返工,可长期维护
  • 弹性体,具有很高的机械性能水平,以及很高的耐热性和耐火性

为什么选择埃肯有机硅作为您汽车制造和加工的有机硅解决方案合作伙伴?

埃肯有机硅的专家团队和我们的研发部门正在不断跟踪市场趋势和法规标准的变化。我们遍及全球的业务和供应链服务,高质量标准(ISO 9001,PPAP方法,航空航天领域的ISO EN 9100等)以及我们的设计和工艺专家使我们成为最苛刻行业装配过程的首选供应商和合作伙伴。使用我们定制的RTV-1和RTV-2弹性体系列产品来帮助您找到正确的密封和粘合解决方案,以满足您所有的组装、保护和维修需求。

我们的工艺程专家与制造商和最终用户密切合作,不断进行改进,以对制造的各个阶段进行优化,并为从初始设计到报废回收和汽车维修的整个汽车价值链做出贡献。

当前正在发展且正在加速发展的下一个挑战是开发和制造不能容许任何错误的全自动驾驶汽车。这些新型汽车正推动我们为电动汽车的部件的密封、粘接和封装开发更高水平的质量和性能,以确保这些无人驾驶汽车的绝对可靠性和安全性。

Silicone applications for the automotive industry

For over 60 years Elkem Silicones has been working closely with the automotive industry, including OEMs and Tier 1 suppliers, to improve quality and efficiency right from the initial assembly stage. For example, we were the first company, beginning in the 1980s, to introduce Cured-in-Place Gaskets (CiPG) and Formed-in-Place Gaskets (FiPGs) using liquid silicone elastomers in engine assembly to replace cork and paper liners! This practice was to become (and remains) an industry standard and has been improved constantly over the years by increasing the adhesion of the silicone material to the parts on which it is applied. 

Today, carmakers must deal with an ever-increasing complexity of industrial, environmental and technological issues: from sourcing raw materials to after-market disassembly, via maintenance, repair, parts recycling, etc. They must also build lighter, safer, more cost-effective vehicles that consume less energy and reduce their environmental and CO₂ footprints. To do this, they must provide customers with a wider choice of vehicles that are powered by more efficient traditional combustion engines, as well as a great variety of hybrid and electrical vehicles (HEVs & EVs) that contribute to the trend for eMobility.

Elkem Silicones continues to work closely with automakers and parts suppliers to help them innovate and improve, from design to disassembly, enabling them to produce the cars that consumers need and desire.

Why are Elkem Silicones automotive solutions the material of choice for the world’s leading automotive industry players?

Elkem Silicones products are present in every part of cars and trucks, from the engine to the vehicle interior, via the body, on-board electronics and accessories. Carmakers know silicone automotive applications are convenient, easy to process, versatile, heat-resistant and stand up to chemical and environmental pressures, making them reliable and stable over time. 

Here are some key automotive parts that use silicones to improve performance:

  • Cylinder head gaskets
  • Engine and gearbox gasketing
  • Power-train sealing
  • Battery modules
  • Battery packs 
  • Headlamp gaskets
  • Electronic control units (ECU)
  • Connectors 
  • Rain and distance sensors

For example, in traditional internal combustion engines, our liquid silicone elastomers used for Cured-in-Place Gaskets (CiPG) and Formed-in-Place Gaskets (FiPGs) are the benchmark products for optimizing the assembly and sealing of gear boxes, engines and cylinder heads.

Silicone raw materials and formulations are also useful to make lighter parts, often replacing metals, and therefore contributing to weight reduction and lower emissions of pollutants and greenhouse gasses. In short, they play an essential role in improving practically all aspects of manufacturing in the automotive industry, from traditional combustion engines to eMobility vehicles. 

On the road to eMobility

All major car manufacturers have launched multiple HEV & EV models and have many more on the drawing boards. One of their main challenges is to ensure that the electrical and electronic parts in this new generation of eMobility vehicles are efficient, reliable and safe. Silicones are used in a wide range of applications for the assembly, integrity and protection of their critical parts. 

Elkem Silicones contributes its experience in sealing and bonding of engine parts, and as well as its expertise in on-board electronics, encapsulation, potting and insulation of electrical parts to move automotive technology forward. It works closely with eMobility manufacturers, from design through to prototyping and assembly, to constantly innovate and improve the quality of this new generation of vehicles.

Thermal management of batteries in eMobility vehicles is a key factor to ensure the effective operation of motors. We work closely with OEMs and Tier 1 suppliers, focusing on the design of battery modules and packs, from the pre-production and prototype phases, through to serial production. We accompany designers and material engineers to find the best solutions and trade-offs between performance, functionality, volume, mass, cost, maintenance, and safety issues. 

 

On-board automotive electronics 

On-board electronics play an increasingly important role in all types of vehicles. Elkem Silicones is constantly developing and improving materials to ensure that critical electrical and electronic components work safely and reliably, from the initial manufacturing stage, and throughout the life of the vehicle. A major priority in our offering is to protect sensitive parts against invasive environmental factors, such as dust, moisture, corrosive fluids, chemicals, heat and potential exposure to flames. This is achieved through a complementary range of specific products for conformal coating, potting and encapsulating. 

Silicones are the materials of choice to protect sensors, actuators, central processing units (CPUs) and printed circuit boards, acting as the first line of defense against outside aggression. Elkem Silicones offers a wide range of technologies to achieve optimal results, including: 

  • Gels, which thanks to their low modulus, can protect against external pressures as well as internal mechanical stress, with easy reworkability for long-term maintenance 
  • Elastomers, which offer high mechanical performance levels, as well as high thermal and fire resistance

Why choose Elkem Silicones as your partner for silicone-based solutions for automotive manufacturing and processing?

Elkem Silicone expert teams and our R&D departments are constantly monitoring market trends and changes in regulatory standards. Our global presence and supply-chain services, our high-quality standards (ISO 9001, PPAP approach, ISO EN 9100 for aeronautics & aerospace, etc.) and our design and process experts have made us a supplier and partner of choice for assembly processes in the most demanding industries. We are available to help you find the right sealing and bonding solutions using our customized range of RTV-1 and RTV-2 elastomers for all your assembly, protection and maintenance needs.

Our process experts work closely with manufacturers and end-users on continuous improvement to optimize all stages of manufacturing and to contribute to the overall automotive value chain, from initial design to after-market maintenance and auto repair. 

The next challenge, currently underway and accelerating is to develop and manufacture self-driving cars, where there is no room for error. These new types of cars are pushing us to develop ever-higher levels of quality and performance in our eMobility products for the sealing, bonding and encapsulation of components to ensure absolute reliability and safety in these driverless vehicles.